Hiking from no.2 to no.1 in Canada Hill, Miri

Come to think of it, I’ve never gone on a real hike before in my life. Sad, huh? I always find excuses to decline invitations from friends.

Earlier this morning I was in my mum’s river cottage (in Niah) for a short while. Here’s a picture of a neglected plant at my river cottage:

Purple flower at my river cottage

Purple flower at my river cottage

The not-so-healthy looking plant kind of reminded me about myself. I need some serious rejuvenation!

Two hours after I arrived in Miri, I heard that some of my seniors (in the Kendo dojo) were going for a hike in Canada Hill. They are regular hikers; some even went outstation to hike. Meanwhile, I’ve been out of shape pretty badly, lately. Of course my martial art training is affected. My left arm is still sore, but for some mysterious reason unknown even to myself, I replied Yes to my friends’ invitation.

It was my first time hiking in Canada Hill. I reminded my seniors that I’m slow and stamina-less, they said they don’t mind. I asked her to guide me through the easiest trail of them all, and she led me from trail no.2 to trail no.1 !

My senior leading the way. I called her 'senior' even though she's younger than me

My senior leading the way. I called her ‘senior’ even though she’s younger than me

walking on the white sands path

walking on the white sands path

the whitish sands path

the white sands path

I was just walking and snapping pictures - typical of me

I was just walking and snapping pictures – typical of me

Another senior of mine descending a not-so-steep terrain

Another senior of mine descending a not-so-steep terrain

Passing by trail no.2

Passing by trail no.2

One of the views that I managed to snap before I became too tired to even hold the camera and my bag

One of the views that I managed to snap before I became too tired to even hold the camera and my bag

a view from one of the trails in Canada Hill

I wish I could snap more pictures, but the camera seemed to get heavier by the seconds

Descending

My senior descending the slope

I’m afraid of heights. I hate climbing and descending steep terrains, but I did not want to turn back; therefore I was forced to face my fear. I love greenery though, so the experience was bearable.

I suddenly remembered one of the recent stories I read: about a martial artist in Japan doing Shugendo and died after sitting under a waterfall. It was during winter. But why? The martial artist’s grand-daughter explained casually: “It happens all the time.”

“It’s religious training,” she was quoted as saying. “It has to be tough, so obviously it was winter. If you go under a waterfall in summer, it’s not training, it’s called “nice”.” – (Source: Page 39 of the book ‘Ninja – 1,000 Years of the Shadow Warriors’)

Rest assured, I will not bertapa under a waterfall during winter. Though, I seriously need to increase my stamina and endurance level.

I almost grabbed those thorny crawling vines! One of my seniors' finger got poked, luckily I brought along some hansaplasts in my bag

I almost grabbed those thorny crawling vines! One of my seniors’ finger got poked, luckily I brought along some hansaplasts in my bag

So, we came from that other end and ended up here

So, we came from that other end and ended up here

There is a short video of me struggling up a slope, but it’s too embarrassing to show here – the camera somehow zoomed too much on my ugly bass.

Alright, I will share a few of the more appropriate screenshots:

All covered up. I rather sweat profusely under the jacket  than to donate my blood to the little vampires (mosquitoes)

All covered up. I rather sweat profusely under the jacket than to donate my blood to the little vampires (mosquitoes)

struggling

struggling

Urgh!

Urgh! There were mud on my butt because I sat down too often (suka ati aku nak duduk kat mana-mana jer) due to exhaustion

because it's all about that fat, ugly bass ...

because it’s all about that fat, ugly bass …

Striving to the top

Striving to the top

Almost there

Almost there

 

I thought I was going to pass out, and then I spotted the Exit sign. What a relief!

I spotted the Exit sign. Yay!

I spotted the Exit sign. Yay!

My senior said something like: “See, very easy right?”

Still gasping for air, I wanted to playfully punch her; at the same time I’m grateful for her guidance.

I had a strange feeling, so I questioned her, “Is that really the easiest trail here?”

She replied, “Err, not really lah. For me, it’s nothing!”

What?! I thought she agreed to take me through the easiest trail. Come on, be kind to a first timer lah. lol

“But that’s good for you,” she added. Yeah, right. I’m expecting the dreaded muscle sore for the next few days.

Ah, open space! What a relief

Ah, open space! What a relief

Possibly one of the most photographed historical place in Miri

Possibly one of the most photographed historical place in Miri

Published in: on November 3, 2014 at 01:19  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

Your feedback is very much appreciated

Sibu Dorifuto!

The infamous Sibu Drifter wannabe's blog

Blookup Blog

Turn and print all your digital contents, blogs and social networks into amazing real paper books on blookup.com

el blab

lifestyle

Autoindigo Blog

Fresh news about automotive world. Cars overviews written by experts, pros and cons, features, performance, safety, interior and driving.

Interesting Literature

A Library of Literary Interestingness

The Bellezza Corner

A little happy place for your mind, body, and soul.

Currently, Lately

The Everything Bagel of Lifestyle Blogging

SaidaChahid.} Fashion-Beauty & Lifestyle Blogger.

"Where Creative Mind Meets The World."

Glam Meets Girl

Irish Based Fashion & Beauty Blog

Cooking without Limits

Food Photography & Recipes

FOLLOW ADVENTURE

Call the world your own 🌎

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

TravellersPlanet

Saccharine outside, Raccoon inside.

bCL Photography

images for a free world

Little Adventures

Growing through life experience.

JustinHorneker.com

Training, Life And Everything In Between

Simple Living Over 50

Defining Life's Changes

Dorkchops

Beauty, Fashion & Lifestyle Blogger

tandem trekking

live vicariously

FOOD IS LIFE!

World, lets FEEL Better by EATING Better!

You, Me, And The Universe

travel, nature, reflection

Concierge Librarian

Research Helper|Ghost Writer|Trainer|Social Media Management|Small Business/Blogging Consultation|Guest Speaker

Heels for All

High heel enthusiasts male & female

A Flash Packers Guide

Books written by flash packers for the savvy traveller.

julius22193

keep going

Just Jamie

The Real Me

Random Scrap

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Be Like Water

Music, Film and Life

Caroline Renae

a fashion and lifestyle diary

foreverlive777

Just another WordPress.com site

Al ritmo político

En sintonía con la realidad

talinorfali

Don't ever change yourself to impress someone, cause they should be impressed that you don't change to please others -- When you are going through something hard and wonder where God is, always remember that the teacher is always quiet during a test --- Unknown

Smart Discount Shop

Discover all the creative and ingenious ways to save money !

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

Mik Mob's Music Mass

share YOUR favourite tunes with The Mob

Mon site officiel / My official website

Venez parler de tout ce dont vous avez envie avec moi. Donnez vos opinions en toute liberté. Laissez vos commentaires. Je vous attends nombreuses et nombreux !!! / Translation in English for people who don't speak French : come to speak about all you want with me. Give your opinions with complete freedom. Leave your comments. I await you many and many !!!

Dream, Play, Write!

Today, make a commitment to your writing.

The Mind of RD REVILO

Conscious Thought: Driven by Intelligent Awareness

andreasmess.wordpress.com/

By Andrea García Linaje

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

